Wisconsin Intramural-Recreational Sports Association


During the state business meeting, the association expressed its gratitude to Director Ryan Rudesill and Secretary Marci Iverson with their terms coming to an end in May 2019.  The association is happy to announce and welcome newly elected officers Therese Kennedy, Secretary (Associate Director, UW-Whitewater) and Marci Iverson as Director Elect.  Both of their terms will start May 2019.

WIRSA handed out the prestigious WIRSA Service Award to Mike Warren (Associate Director former WIRSA State Director, UW-Madison), recognizing Mike for his ongoing leadership and contributions to WIRSA and Campus Recreation. Megan Lee, UW-River Falls Recreation Services Student Staff Member, earned the WIRSA Student

Leadership Award and a $250 scholarship for professional development. Lastly, the first annual WIRSA T-Shirt of the Year award was awarded to UW Stout’s Adventures Program.

The 2018 WIRSA State Conference was hosted October 3-5 by the University of Wisconsin-River Falls, the UW-River Falls Pro Staff, and a host of Campus Recreation Student Employees.  The trip back to the west side of the Badger State featured the unveiling of the long-awaited Falcon Center for Health, Education, and Wellness and it did not disappoint. 

Sitting WIRSA State Director, Ryan Rudesill (Assistant Director – UW-River Falls), oversaw the state conference serving in his final term before turning over the reins to Director Elect, Chad Schultz (Assistant Director of Instructional Programs & Staff Development – UW-Madison).  The complete WIRSA Executive Board consists of Sandy Wilson, Treasurer (Assistant Director of Membership Services - UW-Madison), Marci Iverson, Secretary (Director - Viterbo University), Andy Jepsen, Historian (Director - UW-Eau Claire), and Ian Howden, Student State Leader (UW-Milwaukee). 

UW-River Falls planned to kick off the 2018 conference by showcasing many of the region’s greatest features through pre-conference events, including a mountain bike tour of River Falls, golfing at the prestigious Troy Burne Golf Course, a kayak trip down the scenic cold water Kinnikinnic River fishery, and the annual fishing contest for the coveted “rake”.  Unfortunately, weather threatened many of these events, with kayaking and the annual fishing contest cancelled due to high water and the threat of lightning.

The Educational Sessions kicked off with a welcome from Steve Stocker (Director – UW-River Falls) and keynote address by former Wisconsin Badger Wrestler and All-American, Kevin Black.  Black challenged everyone to reach within themselves to find their inner greatness. Black helped coach Helen Maroulis, 2016 Olympic Gold Medalist, in Rio de Janeiro in women’s wrestling. 

The lineup of educational sessions featured a wide array of topics impacting Campus Recreation across a full spectrum.  Key sessions included Pioneers and Settlers delivered by Keynote Speaker, Kevin Black, as well as topics related to Assessment, Mental Health, Social Media, Creating a Leadership Culture, Technology in Recreation, Partnering to Create a Successful Unified Sports Experience, Youth Camps, Recreational and Intersectional; Creating Safe Spaces for LGBTQIA Students, Maximizing Resources, a Young Professionals Panel, Understanding Sexual Violence, Hazing from a Prevention Lens, and lastly, Falcon Center 2.0.

Thank you sponsors!

2018 WIRSA State Conference hosted by UW-River Falls, October 3-5

Did we mention the food? WIRSA socials provided several opportunities for networking and getting to know one another.  Socials that were sponsored by wonderful corporate sponsors included Direct Fitness Solutions/Precor USA Juniors Social on Wednesday night, Kiefer Specialty Flooring/Mondo USA for breakfast on Thursday, Summit Commercial Fitness/Matrix USA Belle Vinez Vineyard & Winery Social on Thursday evening, and lastly, the Woodway USA Late Night Social to cap off Thursday night.

As part of the Belle Vinez Social, the Silent Auction was conducted and raised $1,712 for student scholarships as well as an additional $267 during the 50/50 raffle.  In total, $1,979 will directly impact furthering student development opportunities for students.  The t-shirt exchange also took place Thursday night and featured plenty of outstanding t-shirts representing school colors and campus culture. 

Attendance at WIRSA 2018:  126 Attendees 

​2005 - University of Wisconsin - Madison
2004 - University of Wisconsin - Superior

2003 - University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
2002 - University of Wisconsin - Whitewater
2001 - University of Wisconsin - Stout​

2000 - University of Wisconsin - Platteville

1999 - University of Wisconsin - Steven's Point

1998 - University of Wisconsin - La Crosse

1997 - University of Minnesota
1996 - University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire

1995 - UW-Milwaukee/Marquette University

1994 - University of Wisconsin - Green Bay

1993 - University of Wisconsin - Madison

1992 - University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

1991 - University of Wisconsin - La Crosse

1990 - Marquette University

1989 - Northern Michigan University

1988 - Milwaukee Athletic Club

1987 - University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

1986 - University of Wisconsin - Steven's Point
1985 - University of Wisconsin - Madison

1984 - University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee

1983 - University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire

Future Sites of WIRSA
2019 - University of Wisconsin - La Crosse
2020 - University of Wisconsin - Madison
2021 - University of Wisconsin - Superior
2022 - University of Wisconsin - Green Bay

2023 - University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh

2024 - Marquette University

2025 - University of Wisconsin - Steven's Point

2026 - University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire

Past Sites

2018 - University of Wisconsin - River Falls

2017 - University of Wisconsin - Parkside

2016 - University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
2015 - University of Wisconsin - Stout

2014 - University of Wisconsin - Whitewater

2013 - University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire

2012 - University of Wisconsin - River Falls

2011 - Marquette University

2010 - University of Wisconsin - Steven's Point

2009 - University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh

2008 - University of Wisconsin - Green Bay

2007 - University of Wisconsin - La Crosse

2006 - University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee